Just Another Tuesday

In our house, we really don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day. We will get each other cards, or a little gift, but nothing over the top. It’s just another Tuesday to us!

This year, though we had reason to celebrate! We had company around our table and wanted to be able to share our love and happiness with those we care for. With me continuing my journey to health and happiness, it was a great opportunity for me to create a meal that I would be excited to put time into planning and share with those with me. Lucky for me I had two wonderful taste testers, my wonderful fiance, Ryan, and my wonderful friend, Sarah, who we were also celebrating her birthday! They are both foodies, too, so it helped to have people who would have an open mind, and regardless of how it actually tasted, they would tell me everything was wonderful. (Though I ate too…so I can say they weren’t lying. The food was legit!)

Sorry for the crummy pictures, I was more distracted by eating, than by getting optimum photographs. On the line-up of my four course menu:

Soup Course: Homemade Rustic Lobster Bisque with Ciabatta bread garlic toasts

Salad Course: Caprese Salad with homemade balsamic drizzle and fresh cracked pepper

Entree Course: Roasted Butternut Squash Ravioli with a Browned Butter Sage sauce and crispy prosciutto

Dessert Course: Chocolate Souffle with homemade Whipped Cream with a mini bruleed banana split

I’m taking credit of making everything homemade except for the ciabatta bread, the mozzarella cheese, gelato, and ravioli!

It was a lot of fun putting everything together and making sure the whole meal was timed correctly that the courses were served with timing in mind, and so I could eat with my guests as well. It was fun and gave me lots of ideas of how to put this talent to good use!

I think I may put together a journal/portfolio of items that I have perfected or enjoy making. Try them out in different combinations and then start offering to people to come over for a tasting night! Maybe eventually I could turn this into something and become a self-taught in-home chef? Maybe I’ll go to culinary school. Anything is really possible at this point. I need to do what’s best for me and my life and my happiness.

Know of anyone looking for someone to come in and create a meal for them and their family? Send them my way! 😉 13141516

Apologies for the turned pictures…my computer is being difficult and not letting me edit the images right now. I was more interested in just getting everything posted and working on it later!

Make it a great day!

Leave a Reply

