Korean Adventures

I think what we’re finding important is variety. Variety with everything, really, not just food. But for the sake of time and not writing a book, we’re just going to focus on food variety tonight.

I did my grocery shopping yesterday and was pleased that my cart was mostly full with fruits and vegetables. Added some shrimp this week for our dinners, as well as buying quinoa in bulk because it was on sale. All in all, I think this newer way of shopping is going to be saving us a lot of money. I generally stick with the same types of vegetables, to be honest, peppers, onions, tomato, lettuce, spinach, cucumber, mushroom, and avocado. This week I added in cauliflower crumbles to try some cauliflower fried rice one day, and a blend the store had of shredded brussel sprouts, cabbage, kale, and chard. I’ll figure out where to plug that one in sometime. For today though, I’m sticking to my normal culprits. Spinach, peppers, avocado, oh, and a little green onion for garnish. There’s some garlic in there, too, but I think that’s a given with me at this point! (Sorry, Ryan!)

I was searching around for different international bowls on Pinterest and stumbled across Lauren, from Tastes Better from Scratch. She has the same sort of belief systems that I am forming, that REAL food is the way to go. She believes in making dinner every night from real, fresh products, with minimal use in artificial ingredients. A girl after my own heart. Anyways, Lauren loves bulgogi and decided she wanted to create her own bowl modeled after it. Fast forward to me and I am now adapting her recipe into my own to create my own pork bulgogi bowl. I don’t have a TON of experience with Korean food, namely kimchi, but I have had bulgogi a few times and I can’t rave enough about it!

If you aren’t familiar with bulgogi, it is traditionally made from grilled, marinated beef. As with any food though, you can adapt it and tonight I’m going with pork loin chops cut thiiiin! It is a widely popular Korean dish, mainly from it’s flavor profile and ease of creating on your own. Looking for a place to try the real deal though? Check out Panda Korean and Chinese Food in Ann Arbor, MI. (https://www.yelp.com/biz/panda-korean-and-chinese-foods-ann-arbor) Their rendition is sweet, salty, spicy, savory, ughh..can’t rave enough about it!

Back to tonight’s menu. I’m using whole grain rice instead of long grain white, pork loin chops, instead of pork tenderloin, baby spinach, instead of a spring mix, and coconut oil instead of veggie oil. Pretty much the same concept, with my minor switch-outs. If this is a success tonight, I will definitely be planning in advance and will hit up Galleria Asian Market in Ann Arbor for fresh kimchi, instead of what I’m sure will be a long shelf-life version at Kroger when I run out. The amount used in the kimchi fried rice is fairly small though, so I’m hoping it won’t be too big of a deal if it isn’t that good! We shall see!

 

Turned out pretty tasty! Ryan even liked it, though he’s yet to complain about anything I’ve ever cooked in our 4 years together…Anyways, it had a nice spice to it, from the crushed red pepper in the marinade, as well as from the spicy kimchi. Oh, and kimchi fried rice? The bomb. Try it. You’re welcome. As for the avocado? I know it doesn’t really go along with the whole Korean meal I’ve got going, but as this recipe called for a sunny side up egg, which I’m not a fan of, I wanted to add something to give it that same creamy texture of a broken yolk. Not complaints here about that substitute! (Ryan did mention wanting to have the egg there next time, so OK!) Here’s the recipe I loosely followed, with the few substitutions I mentioned above!  http://tastesbetterfromscratch.com/2016/06/korean-bulgogi-bowls.html Check it out if you’re feeling adventurous! You won’t be sorry!

Have a great night, guys!

Leave a Reply

